To contact the Parish Council please email the Parish Clerk, Alana Collis, at

You can also follow us on Facebook at

Pillerton Hersey Parish Councillors

The Parish Council is made up of five councillors: 

  • Catherine Hewson (Chair) - responsibility for HR matters
  • Ian Brooks (Vice Chair) - lead for planning matters
  • Alec Hitchman - lead for finance matters
  • William Forsyth
  • Glan Thomas

Civility and Respect Pledge

At the meeting on 27 September 2022, Pillerton Hersey Parish Councillors agreed to sign up to the Civility and Respect Pledge.

Throughout the sector, there are growing concerns about the impact bullying, harassment, and intimidation are having on local (parish and town) councils, councillors, clerks and council staff and the resulting effectiveness of local councils.

The Civility and Respect Pledge, developed by the National Association of Local Councils (NALC) and partner organisations. Its mission is to ensure civility and respect are at the heart of public life, and good governance is fundamental to ensuring an effective democracy at all levels.

By signing the Pledge, your council is agreeing that the council will treat councillors, clerks, employees, members of the public, and representatives of partner organisations and volunteers with civility and respect in their roles and that it:

  • Has put in place a training programme for councillors and staff
  • Has signed up to the Code of Conduct for councillors
  • Has good governance arrangements in place including staff contracts and a dignity at work policy
  • Will seek professional help at the early stages should civility and respect issues arise
  • Will commit to calling out bullying and harassment if and when it happens
  • Will continue to learn from best practices in the sector and aspire to be a role model/champion council
  • Supports the continued lobbying for change in legislation to support the Civility and Respect Pledge including sanctions for elected members where appropriate